Let’s NOT Judge Teachers on This

Hello again bloggers!

I’m not sure if many people have read what I posted before, or if many people will, but, to be hones-I’ve missed this. Sadly, a new semester has gotten to me and I have been beyond busy. That, is something I did not exactly expect, but I sure as hell have enjoyed it. Anyways, I found this lovely image in the nice world of pinterest. It’s a great website for storage of whatever in the world it is you are interested in, if you have no idea what that is. This image spoke to me, so here goes my little rant on why this image is relevant, in my world at least.

Image

 

I have met many teachers, and many students in my twenty years of life, especially since I have been in school since I was five and am still going at it. Yay school, right? Anyways, I have had so many teachers, and sadly I’ve forgotten a few of them. However, I know that no test grades are not the way to evaluate your teachers. Not in this day and age it isn’t. Why? Because as a student who has unfortunately worried about grades, I know there are students who do not give two craps about school. I have sat through classes where the professor is there wasting their breath for the majority of students. I have sat through a high school biology class where I had to endure those kids that would make the teacher repeat himself a good five or so times, just because they “don’t understand”. Honestly, it was easy to understand the first time if you stopped talking to your friends, texting, ignoring the teacher, and being obnoxious. I’ve had very nice, very patient teachers, who are willing to help every student, even if it is the obnoxious person that always tries to make a joke, and the only one who laughs are their friends while the rest of us are sitting there rolling our eyes.

It is hard to sit through a class, as a student who actually cares, and see that there are people who disrupt the teacher so much that class itself seems like a waste. Yes, that also happened. I am pretty sure that one of my history classes made me suffer because we were disrupted daily. I mean how would you not be disrupted when you need to read your book, and answer questions in class, yet there’s that one person who lost their book the first day of school? Yes, that was sadly the biggest debate in that history class. How you lose your textbook after you get it the very first day of the school year is still a mystery to me, but this person managed to do it.

Anyways,  it is students like these, and sadly I had to endure like two classes in a row that same year with the obnoxious class clown who thought they were God’s gift to mankind, who make teachers look bad. They may eventually get their act together, but before they do, they give grief to the teachers and to those of us who actually care. You cannot base a teacher, their job, and how much time and effort they put into their lessons, and their students based off of grades.

These bad students are just part of it, honestly. There’s also the fact that not everyone tests well. I for one freak out when I know I have a test. No matter how hard I study I am always afraid I will fall short of my own expectations (usually 92+). I make stupid mistakes that I should know better, yet still they happen, which bring my grades down. I hate standardized testing. I really do. I needed to take them my junior year of high school, after not having done them for what? Three years? I was taking precalc, I was better yet, enjoying precalc, and suddenly I had to put that aside in a sense in order to dig deep into my brain to try and recall math I hadn’t seen since middle school and prior to that. One minute I was reading The Scarlet Letter, the next I was reading short stories, and trying to guess what the test makers think I should take out of them. I don’t know about you, but there are many different themes one can find in a good story. So, I am pretty sure that that is why I sucked at standardized tests. I hated them, they made me panic because no, we should not be made to stop what we are learning at the moment just to make sure that we are all standard, average. Shouldn’t we be striving to be above average? Thing is, tests are not a good way to measure intelligence in my world. What if I had someone close to me die before I took a test? What if before my SAT’s I lost someone I love, yet I still took the test? Guess what, I can promise you that I will not be in my correct mindset for that test. It will be wasted time and effort on my part, because well, someone died, or maybe I was sick and on medications as I took it, what if my parents had just gotten divorced? Many things can and do affect test scores. I should know, I’ve been dealing with them for a while.

So, because all of these different things affect a student’s performance on any given test, they in turn, do affect the teachers as well. No, the teacher does not fail at their job if they’re in a class full of goofs. No a teacher does not fail if someone failed a test because their dog died. The teacher also does not fail just because a student decided to play video games rather than study. If the teacher made sure to teach the material and offer to help prior to the test, guess what, maybe your kid is just not putting in the effort.

Anyways, that’s my little rant. Let me know your own opinions on this. Any agreements or disagreements you have comment them below, and until next time!

TTFN:)

 

Leave a Reply

