Why do I love Prisoner of Azkaban?

Hello again fellow bloggers,

So, like many have done throughout the years, I have read the Harry Potter series, and I love it. There is no question about it, I just do, I adore Harry and his friends and acquaintances. My favorite book in the series has to be Prisoner of Azkaban however, simply because this is a huge turning point for Harry. He finds out what his dad was like as a student, he finds out that his dad was a good friend, and had this awesome best friend named Sirius! I mean honestly, Sirius is just awesome, and although he is being framed for a crime he did not commit he was okay with it. Sirius was okay with taking the blame for this because well, he would have loved to have been the one to end Peter’s life for what he did. Sirius never betrayed James and Lily and he knew that escaping Azkaban wasn’t going to bring them back. We find out that the Marauder’s were this great pranking trio, we discover how the laws are enforced in the magical world, and hey who knew Trelawney wasn’t an old fraud right? Lupin is also introduced in this book, you know, the best D.A.D.A. professor that Harry ever had? Yeah, that guy. Even if Sirius had turned out to being evil and murderous, Harry would still have had Lupin, who even if no longer a professor at Hogwarts would still have cared and spoken to Harry. If not always in the same ways as Sirius, but he still would have been there for the boy who lived.

The thing is, I love this book because of the mere fact that this is where Harry has family! This is when he realizes that he does in fact have someone out there, legally, and that this person is willing to take care of him, and already loves him. Sirius is a connection to his parents, to that past that he knows nothing about but wonders about all the time. Sirius doesn’t exactly hesitate to ask Harry to come and live with him as soon as all has been settled between them. Sirius wants to get to know his godson, he wants to have Harry with him and help and take care of him.

Not only does this concept of family make me love the book, but this is one of the last times we see sassy Harry at the end, which always made me smile when I finished the books:

“What’s that? he (uncle Vernon) snarled, staring at the envelope Harry was still clutching in hand. “If it’s another form for me to sign, you’ve got another -”

“It’s not,” said Harry cheerfully.”It’s a letter from my godfather”

“Godfather?” sputtered uncle Vernon. “You haven’t got a godfather.”

“Yes, I have,”said Harry brightly. “He was my mum and dad’s best friend. He’s a convicted murderer, but he’s broken out of wizard prison and he’s on the run. He likes to keep in touch with me, though…keep up with my news…check if I’m happy…”

I mean really, did no one else look forward to these moments when Harry would get snarky with the Dursley’s? Because, honestly, I sure as hell did. That and the Quidditch commentaries by Lee Jordan of course.

So, which Harry Potter book is YOUR favourite?

Leave a Reply

